International Energy Agency (IEA)

The International Energy Agency (IEA) is an autonomous organisation within the OECD and is made up of 29 member countries. It is founded on the International Energy Programme, which was adopted by the OECD Council following the oil crisis of 1973, with the aim of quickly and effectively managing potential oil supply crises. As a founder member, Switzerland has committed itself under international law to stockpiling a volume of oil equivalent to at least 90 days’ current normal consumption, to having in place measures for crisis management in accordance with IEA regulations and to regularly preparing statistical data.

In 2009 the IEA was mandated by the energy ministers of the member countries to extend their activities to natural gas. Since then, the IEA has been supporting the efforts of its members to further develop emergency and crisis response measures for both oil and gas. To this end, the IEA conducts period country reviews to analyse and assess the supply situation, infrastructure and emergency measures of each individual member. In 2013, electricity was also included in the review catalogue.

The FONES participates in two working groups of the IEA: the Standing Group on Emergency Questions (SEQ), which deals with the management of international oil crises, and the Standing Group on the Oil Market (SOM), which prepares analyses of the global oil market.

Additional information

Last modification 17.11.2017

Top of page

https://www.bwl.admin.ch/content/bwl/en/home/ueber-uns/internationale_zusammenarbeit/internationale-energieagentur--iea-.html

Agence internationale de l’énergie (AIE)

L'Agence internationale de l'énergie (AIE) constitue une organisation autonome au sein de l'OCDE et compte 29 pays membres. Elle repose sur le programme international de l'énergie, adopté par le conseil de l'OCDE, suite à la crise pétrolière de 1973. Il visait à maîtriser avec rapidité et efficacité d'éventuelles crises de l'approvisionnement en pétrole. Membre fondateur, la Suisse s'est engagée sur l'arène internationale à détenir en permanence du pétrole en volume suffisant pour couvrir sa consommation normale durant au moins 90 jours. Elle doit aussi préparer des mesures pour maîtriser les crises, selon les exigences de l'AIE, et lui envoyer régulièrement des statistiques.

En 2009, certains pays membres ont, via leur ministre de l'énergie, chargé l'AIE d'élargir ses activités au gaz naturel. Depuis, l'AIE appuie les efforts de ses membres pour améliorer leurs aptitudes face à l'urgence et leurs mesures anti-crise, non seulement dans le secteur pétrolier, mais aussi gazier. A cet effet, via des examens périodiques de ses membres, l'AIE analyse et évalue notamment l'approvisionnement, les infrastructures et les mesures d'urgence prévues dans chacun des pays. Depuis 2013, l'électricité fait partie du catalogue à vérifier.

L'OFAE intervient dans deux groupes de travail : l’un, Standing Group on Emergency Questions, s’occupe des questions urgentes (maîtriser une crise pétrolière internationale) et l’autre, Standing Group on the Oil Market, est chargé du marché pétrolier (analyser la situation sur les marchés internationaux).

Informations complémentaires

Dernière modification 05.07.2017

Début de la page

https://www.bwl.admin.ch/content/bwl/fr/home/ueber-uns/internationale_zusammenarbeit/internationale-energieagentur--iea-.html