Compulsory stocks system

National Economic Supply Act (NESA) Article 7 paras 1 and 2

“The Federal Council may require stocks of certain essential goods to be held.”

“The FONES concludes agreements with the companies concerned on the holding of such stocks.”

The Federal Council prescribes which compulsory stocks of essential goods are necessary. The individual products and the quantities to be stockpiled are laid down in legislation subsidiary to the National Economic Supply Act.

The FONES concludes compulsory stock agreements with the companies concerned. In these contracts, the companies undertake to store a certain quantity of a certain good of a particular quality at a given place. The goods are regularly exchanged and sold via the companies’ normal sales channels. The FONES or a FONES-appointed control centre periodically checks the compulsory stocks.

Additional information

Loans for compulsory stocks

Loans for compulsory stocks

The Confederation makes it easier for companies to maintain compulsory stocks by guaranteeing bank loans to finance stocks. Thanks to this federal guarantee, banks are prepared to lend to the companies at the LIBOR interest rates (British Bankers Association’s London Interbank Offered Rate). If LIBOR is negative, a rate of 0% is applied. There are also preferential federal tax conditions that apply to compulsory stocks.

Supplementary compulsory stocks

Supplementary compulsory stocks

Essential goods for which the Federal Council does not prescribe compulsory stocks may be subject to supplementary compulsory storage. To this end, FONES concludes compulsory stock agreements with the companies concerned by mutual agreement. Supplementary compulsory stockpiling affects some essential goods for which there is normally only small demand or which are offered by only a few suppliers on the market. These include various pharmaceutical products, medical products and plastic granules for the packaging industry. The supplementary compulsory stocks account for less than 10% of total compulsory storage.

Last modification 29.05.2018

Top of page

https://www.bwl.admin.ch/content/bwl/en/home/themen/pflichtlager/system_der_vorratshaltung.html

Tout sur le stockage stratégique


Loi sur l’approvisionnement du pays (LAP), art. 7, al. 1 et 2

Le Conseil fédéral peut rendre obligatoire le stockage de certains biens vitaux.

L’OFAE conclut avec les entreprises concernées un contrat réglant le stockage des biens de ce type.

Le Conseil fédéral prescrit de constituer des réserves de biens qu’il juge vitaux, justifiant par là le stockage obligatoire. Les bases légales de l’AEP fixent les produits à stocker et les besoins à couvrir (quantités).

L’OFAE conclut avec les entreprises concernées un contrat de stockage obligatoire. Par ces contrats, les entreprises s’engagent à détenir, à un certain endroit, une marchandise donnée – quantité et qualité étant fixées. Les marchandises ainsi stockées connaissent une rotation régulière et seront vendues par les canaux usuels de distribution. Il incombe à l’OFAE ou à l’autorité de contrôle qu’il a mandatée d’inspecter périodiquement les stocks.

Informations complémentaires

Prêt pour réserves obligatoires

La Confédération facilite la constitution de stocks obligatoires en accordant des garanties aux entreprises lorsqu’elles requièrent un prêt bancaire pour financer ces réserves. Vu cette garantie fédérale, les banques d’affaires sont prêtes à accorder pour ces prêts un taux d’intérêt bas, à savoir celui du LIBOR (taux interbancaire proposé par la British Bankers Association). Si le LIBOR est négatif, elles appliquent le taux de 0 %. De surcroit, la Confédération accorde des amortissements fiscaux supplémentaires aux propriétaires de stocks.

Réserves complémentaires

Les biens vitaux pour lesquels le Conseil fédéral ne prescrit pas de stockage obligatoire peuvent être soumis au stockage à titre complémentaire. A cet effet, l’OFAE passe des contrats de stockage avec les entreprises qui se portent volontaires. On recourt à cette possibilité lorsqu’il faut détenir des réserves de biens vitaux ne générant habituellement qu’une faible demande ou fabriqués par une poignée d’acteurs sur le marché. On peut citer divers médicaments ou dispositifs médicaux et les granules de plastique pour l’industrie de l’emballage. Les réserves complémentaires représentent moins de 10 % des réserves stratégiques.

Dernière modification 01.11.2016

Début de la page

https://www.bwl.admin.ch/content/bwl/fr/home/themen/pflichtlager/system_der_vorratshaltung.html