Range of products stored

The compulsory stocks include directly consumable foodstuffs such as sugar, rice and cooking oil, and products that need to be processed before consumption, such as bread grain. Production factors  such as fertilisers and feedstuffs are also stockpiled. Enough is stocked to cover the average requirements in Switzerland for three to four months.

Petroleum, natural gas and electricity are the key energy products whose supply must be made secure. Enough petrol, diesel and heating oil is stocked to meet the average Swiss requirements for four and half months, and enough aviation fuel for three months. Importers of natural gas have smaller storage facilities, so as to be able to balance out short-term fluctuations in supply and demand.

Sufficient stocks of anti-infective drugs to treat all common infectious diseases are kept to last for five to six months. A compulsory stock of virostatics is held in case of a flu pandemic. Strong painkillers to cover requirements for three months are stocked, and since 1 October 2016 selected vaccines have also been stockpiled. There are supplementary stocks of haemostatics, insulins and various medical products. Veterinary medicines are stocked for two months of average consumption.

In addition, there are stocks of plastics for manufacturing pharmaceutical and food packaging.

 

Additional information

Last modification 21.12.2017

Top of page

https://www.bwl.admin.ch/content/bwl/en/home/themen/pflichtlager/pflichtlagersortiment.html

Pflichtlagersortiment

Die Pflichtlager umfassen einerseits direkt konsumierbare Nahrungsmittel wie Zucker, Reis oder Speiseöle, andererseits Produkte, die vor dem Konsum zu verarbeiten sind, wie etwa Brotgetreide. Schliesslich werden auch Produktionsfaktoren wie Dünger und Futtermittel gehalten. Die Warenmengen sollen dem durchschnittlichen schweizerischen Bedarf von drei bis vier Monaten entsprechen.

Bei der Sicherstellung der Energieversorgung stehen Mineralöl, Erdgas und Elektrizität im Vordergrund. Autobenzine, Diesel- und Heizöle entsprechen dem durchschnittlichen schweizerischen Bedarf von viereinhalb Monaten, Flugpetrol dem Bedarf von drei Monaten. Im Erdgasmarkt verfügen die Importeure über kleinere Erdgasspeicher, um kurzfristige Schwankungen von Angebot und Nachfrage ausgleichen zu können.

An Pflichtlager liegen Human-Antiinfektiva für fünf bis sechs Monate, die gegen alle gängigen Infektionskrankheiten eingesetzt werden. Für den Fall einer Influenza-Pandemie besteht ein Pflichtlager an Virostatika. Starke Schmerzmittel werden für einen 3-Monatsbedarf an Lager gehalten und seit 1. Oktober 2016 werden Pflichtlager mit ausgewählten Impfstoffen aufgebaut. Hämostatika, Insuline und diverse Medizinprodukte werden ergänzend gelagert. Im Veterinärbereich sind Arzneimittel für den durchschnittlichen Verbrauch von zwei Monaten an Pflichtlager.

Ergänzend bestehen Kunststoff-Vorräte für die Herstellung von Arznei- und Lebensmittelverpackungen.
 

Weiterführende Informationen

Letzte Änderung 09.09.2016

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.bwl.admin.ch/content/bwl/de/home/themen/pflichtlager/pflichtlagersortiment.html