Stockpiling

Pflichtlager

Switzerland is heavily dependent upon imports, so maintaining reserves of certain goods is a very important precautionary measure in ensuring security of supply. If an unforeseen crisis means that the market is no longer able to satisfy demand for vital basic goods, having reserves to release as needed is a valuable instrument for NES.

News

Indispensable compulsory stocks

The COVID-19 pandemic clearly shows the importance of compulsory stocks in Switzerland: shortages in the supply of therapeutic products do occur from time to time. During the pandemic, however, they are occurring more frequently. In 2020, compulsory stocks of medicines were released a total of 92 times, mostly antibiotics. And in February 2020, the federal government bought up the compulsory stocks of FFP2/3 masks and distributed them to the cantons via the Armed Forces Pharmacy.

The compulsory stocks do not only consist of masks and therapeutic products. Around 300 companies currently hold compulsory stocks of a wide range of goods, from basic foodstuffs to fuel and fertiliser. The total value of the stocks is currently estimated at around CHF 2.5 billion.

The federal government determines which essential goods must be stockpiled. The range of goods has changed considerably since the 1990s: Metals, textiles or even soap and detergents are no longer held in compulsory stocks. Therapeutic products, however, have gained in importance. The federal government also recommends that private households keep about a week’s worth of emergency supplies of food and water. These emergency supplies should also contain personal medicines, masks and cash.

vsao Journal february 2021: the swiss compulsory stocks system (in german) (PDF, 505 kB, 25.02.2021)

(25.02.2021)

The federal government and the private sector work together to maintain the system of compulsory stocks. The Confederation determines which goods and how much of them need to be stocked. However, the stocks are the property of private businesses rather than of the government, and are managed by them. On 1 February 2021 around 300 private companies held compulsory stocks.

The costs of maintaining compulsory stocks are included by companies in the sales prices and are thus borne by the consumer.

Each person in Switzerland pays about CHF 12 a year on average towards NES in this way (status: 1 February 2021).

Additional information

Last modification 25.02.2021

Top of page

https://www.bwl.admin.ch/content/bwl/en/home/themen/pflichtlager.html

Vorratshaltung

Bild_Pflichtlager

Die Pflichtlagerhaltung ist für die importabhängige Schweiz als vorsorgliche Massnahme von grosser Bedeutung. Kann die Nachfrage nach wichtigen Grundversorgungsgütern aufgrund eines Engpasses über den Markt nicht mehr gedeckt werden, stellen Vorräte, die bei Bedarf freigegeben werden können, ein wertvolles Instrument der wirtschaftlichen Landesversorgung dar.

Aktuell

Unverzichtbare Pflichtlager

Die COVID-19-Pandemie zeigt deutlich die Bedeutung der Pflichtlager in der Schweiz: Engpässe bei der Versorgung mit Heilmitteln gibt es zwar immer wieder. Während der Pandemie treten sie aber verstärkt auf. 2020 waren insgesamt 92 Mal Pflichtlager aus dem Bereich Heilmittel freigegeben worden, zumeist für Antibiotika. Und im Februar 2020 hatte der Bund die Pflichtlager an FFP2/3-Masken aufgekauft und verteilte diese über die Armeeapotheke an die Kantone.

In den Pflichtlagern finden sich nicht nur Masken und Heilmittel. Derzeit halten etwa 300 Unternehmen Pflichtlager unterschiedlichster Waren, von Grundnahrungsmitteln über Treibstoff bis Dünger. Der Gesamtwert der Lager wird aktuell auf rund 2,5 Milliarden Franken geschätzt.

Der Bund bestimmt die obligatorisch zu lagernden Waren. Das Sortiment hat sich seit den 1990er Jahren stark verändert: Metalle, Textilien oder auch Seifen- und Waschmittel werden heute nicht mehr in Pflichtlagern gehalten. Demgegenüber gewannen die Heilmittel an Bedeutung. Den privaten Haushalten empfiehlt der Bund zudem, einen Notvorrat anzulegen, mit Lebensmitteln, und Wasser für rund eine Woche. Der Notvorrat sollte auch persönliche Medikamente, Masken und Bargeld enthalten.

vsao Journal Februar 2021: Vom Pflichtlager bis zur Speichermilz (PDF, 505 kB, 25.02.2021)

(25.02.2021)

Das System der Pflichtlagerhaltung basiert auf der Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem Staat und der Wirtschaft. Der Bund legt die Zusammensetzung und das Ausmass der Pflichtlager fest. Die Vorräte werden jedoch nicht vom Bund, sondern von privaten Unternehmen gehalten und sind in deren Eigentum. Am 1. Februar 2021 hielten rund 300 Unternehmen ein Pflichtlager.

Die Kosten der Pflichtlagerhaltung werden von den Unternehmen auf die Verkaufspreise überwälzt und damit von den Konsumenten getragen. Im Durchschnitt bezahlt jeder Einwohner der Schweiz auf diese Weise jährlich ca. CHF 12.-- für die wirtschaftliche Landesversorgung (Stand: 1. Februar 2021).

Weiterführende Informationen

Letzte Änderung 25.02.2021

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.bwl.admin.ch/content/bwl/de/home/themen/pflichtlager.html