Emergency supplies

Notvorrat

We advise – emergency supplies

Consumer goods, especially food, are transported to all parts of the country every day via a smoothly functioning distribution system. If this system fails as a result of blocked roads or for any other reason, remote locations can quickly be cut off from food supplies. Nowadays we can assume that supplies will not be held up for months, but they could still be held up for several days. This is why we recommend that you keep enough supplies to tide you over for about a week.

You can find a brochure on this subject in
German (PDF, 1 MB, 17.11.2020),
French (PDF, 1 MB, 17.11.2020) or
Italian (PDF, 1 MB, 17.11.2020).

Notvorrat_linkbild

News

Emergency Supplies Before, During and After the Swiss Confederation’s COVID-19 Measures

Study by C. Ritzel, Agroscope
 

The older the respondents, the better they know and follow the emergency supply recommendations. Experience from the first lockdown can help ensure more stocking-up in future.

Data from a representative survey of around 1000 people living in Switzerland, conducted by the Federal Food Safety and Veterinary Office FSVO in 2020, served as the basis for this Agroscope study. Using multivariate analyses methods, Agroscope researchers investigated the reasons for stocking up on household supplies according to the guidelines of the Federal Office for National Economic Supply FONES before and during the first lockdown (13 March to 26 April 2020) as well as after the COVID-19 pandemic. Here, the following three research questions were answered:

  • Were there different groups within the Swiss population in terms of knowledge of the FONES recommendations regarding emergency supplies, and in terms of actual behaviour (laying-in of emergency supplies), even before the first lockdown in 2020? How can these groups be characterised?

  • What impact did sociodemographic factors have on the decision to stock up on more food and drink supplies than usual between 13 March and 26 April 2020?

  • What impact do sociodemographic factors have on the intention to stock up on emergency supplies after the COVID-19 crisis?
     

Before lockdown: differences between young and old

In terms of knowledge and behaviour, the respondents can be divided into three groups. People with a high average age and a lower educational level seem to be more aware of the topic of stocking up on household supplies. By contrast, it is particularly younger, well educated  people from French-speaking Switzerland who are less likely to follow the FONES recommendations.

During lockdown: the German/French divide

Sociodemographic factors only go so far in explaining people’s decisions to stock up on food supplies much more than usual during the first lockdown between 13 March and 26 April 2020.  

Women were more likely to increase their stocks of food. In addition, people from French- and Italian-speaking Switzerland were more likely to lay in larger stocks of food than people from German-speaking Switzerland.

Empty shelves motivate stockpiling

People who were worried during the first lockdown in 2020 about not being able to obtain certain foods are more likely in future to stock up on food and drink according to the FONES recommendations.
 

Conclusions

  • It is the older population who tend to stock up on emergency supplies.

  • In the first lockdown in 2020, women as well as people from French- and Italian-speaking regions were more likely to build up larger-than-usual emergency stocks.

  • People who were worried during the first lockdown in 2020 about certain foods becoming unavailable are more willing to stock up on emergency supplies in future. The same holds true for people belonging to an at-risk group.

In addition to FONES information campaigns encouraging the entire Swiss population to stock up on supplies, information targeted at younger, well-educated people from French-speaking Switzerland should be made available.

Agroscope Study (in German)

(19.04.2021)

Last modification 19.04.2021

Top of page

https://www.bwl.admin.ch/content/bwl/en/home/themen/notvorrat.html

Notvorrat

Teaserbild_Notvorrat_D

Kluger Rat - Notvorrat

Lebensmittel und andere Verbrauchsgüter werden täglich über ein gut funktionierendes Verteilersystem transportiert. Fällt dieses Transportsystem aufgrund blockierter Strassen oder aus anderen Gründen aus, können kleinere Ortschaften innert kurzer Zeit von der Lebensmittelversorgung abgeschnitten werden. Man geht heute davon aus, dass ein Versorgungsunterbruch zwar nicht Monate, aber doch mehrere Tage andauern könnte. Deshalb empfiehlt die wirtschaftliche Landesversorgung, einen Vorrat für rund eine Woche zu halten.

Da bei einem Stromunterbruch auch Bancomaten betroffen sind und elektronische Zahlungsmittel wie Debit- und Kreditkarten oder die Bezahlung via Smartphone ausfallen können, empfiehlt die WL eine minimale Bargeldreserve in kleinen Scheinen.

Die Broschüre «Kluger Rat – Notvorrat» erklärt, was in den Vorrat gehört. Sie können das Dokument hier herunterladen:

Broschüre «Kluger Rat - Notvorrat» (PDF, 1 MB, 17.11.2020)

Notvorrat_linkbild

Aktuell

Notvorrat vor, während und nach den Corona-Massnahmen des Bundes

Studie von C. Ritzel, Agroscope
 

Je älter die Befragten, desto besser kennen und befolgen sie die Empfehlungen zum Notvorrat. Erfahrungen aus dem ersten Lockdown können mithelfen, dass künftig mehr Vorräte angelegt werden.

Als Basis für die vorliegende Agroscope-Studie dienten die Daten aus einer repräsentativen Umfrage im Jahre 2020 durch das Bundesamt für Lebensmittelsicherheit und Veterinärwesen BLV unter rund 1000 in der Schweiz lebenden Personen. Die Agroscope-Forschenden untersuchten mittels multivariater Analysemethoden die Gründe für das Anlegen von Haushaltsvorräten gemäss den Vorgaben des Bundesamtes für wirtschaftliche Landesversorgung BWL vor und während des ersten Lockdowns (13. März bis 26. April 2020) sowie nach der COVID-19-Pandemie. Dabei wurden die folgenden drei Forschungsfragen beantwortet:

  • Bestanden bereits vor dem ersten Lockdown in 2020 unterschiedliche Gruppen innerhalb der Schweizer Bevölkerung bezüglich Wissen über die Empfehlungen des BWL bezüglich Notvorrat und dem tatsächlichen Verhalten (das Anlegen von Notvorräten)? Wie lassen sich diese Gruppen charakterisieren?

  • Welchen Einfluss hatten soziodemographische Charakteristika auf die Entscheidung, zwischen dem 13. März und 26. April 2020 mehr Nahrungsmittel- und Getränkevorräte anzulegen als üblich?

  • Welchen Einfluss haben soziodemographische Charakteristika auf die Absicht, nach der COVID-19-Krise Notvorräte anzulegen?
     

Vor dem Lockdown: Unterschiede zwischen Jung und Alt

Die Gesamtheit der befragten Personen lässt sich hinsichtlich Wissen und Verhalten in drei Gruppen einteilen. Personen mit einem hohen Durchschnittsalter und einem geringeren Bildungsniveau scheinen sensibler für das Thema Haushaltsvorräte zu sein. Hingegen gehen speziell jüngere, gut ausgebildete Personen aus der französischsprachigen Schweiz den Empfehlungen des BWL vergleichsweise weniger nach.

Während des Lockdowns: ein Röstigraben

Soziodemographische Charakteristika können die Entscheidung, ob während des ersten Lockdowns vom 13. März bis 26. April 2020 Lebensmittelvorräte über das gewohnte Mass hinaus angelegt wurden oder nicht, nur zu einem kleinen Teil erklären.

Frauen waren tendenziell eher dazu geneigt, ihren Lebensmittelvorrat zu erhöhen. Darüber hinaus zeigten Personen aus der französisch- und italienischsprachigen Schweiz im Vergleich zu Personen aus der deutschsprachigen Schweiz eine höhere Wahrscheinlichkeit, umfassendere Lebensmittelvorräte anzulegen.

Leere Regale motivieren zur Vorratshaltung

Es zeigt sich sehr deutlich, dass Personen, die während des ersten Lockdowns 2020 besorgt waren, gewisse Lebensmittel nicht mehr zu erhalten, in Zukunft eher bereit sind, Lebensmittel- und Getränkevorräte entsprechend den Empfehlungen des BWL anzulegen.
 

Fazit

  • Notvorräte werden eher von der älteren Bevölkerung angelegt.

  • Frauen sowie Personen aus französisch- und italienischsprachigen Regionen waren im ersten Lockdown 2020 eher geneigt, Notvorräte über das gewohnte Mass hinaus anzulegen.

  • Personen, die im ersten Lockdown 2020 besorgt waren, gewisse Lebensmittel nicht mehr zu finden, sind zukünftig eher bereit, Notvorräte anzulegen. Gleiches gilt für Personen, die einer Risikogruppe angehören.

Neben Informationskampagnen für die gesamte Schweizer Bevölkerung zur Vorratshaltung durch das BWL sollten gezielte Informationsangebote für jüngere gut ausgebildete Personen aus der französischsprachigen Schweiz bereitgestellt werden.

Zur Agroscope-Studie

(19.04.2021)

Weiterführende Informationen

Letzte Änderung 19.04.2021

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.bwl.admin.ch/content/bwl/de/home/themen/notvorrat.html