Therapeutic products

The demand for therapeutic products in Switzerland is largely met by imports. Some product groups, such as antibiotics or insulin preparations, come almost exclusively from abroad.

Heilmittel

News

Therapeutic products platform helped to ease shortages

In 2019 and 2020 there were more than 300 cases of disruptions to the supply of critical medicines that are subject to a reporting obligation. The therapeutic products reporting platform of the national economic supply NES recorded and analysed these disruptions. Several critical situations were eased through early monitoring and the release of compulsory stocks, as stated in a report acknowledged by the Federal Council on 12 May.

A total of 321 supply disruptions were recorded in the reporting years 2019 and 2020. The number of disruption reports increased from 2016 to 2019. This figure decreased by 26% in 2020, dropping from 184 (2019) to 137 (2020). The first wave of COVID-19 in April 2020 saw a massive increase in the number of reports. As the year progressed, however, numbers dropped below the level of the previous year. Possible explanations for this decline stem from the consequences of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Press release: Therapeutic products platform helped to ease shortages (in french)

Reporting office for vital human medicines - Report 2019-2020 (in french) (PDF, 1 MB, 12.05.2021)

(12.05.2021)

Over recent years, globalisation has resulted in a concentration of suppliers and production sites worldwide. At the same time, stocks have been reduced at all levels for cost reasons. Medical supply chains have thus become more vulnerable.

The FONES has devised measures both for short-term shortages and supply shortfalls as well as for the event of a pandemic. These include filling gaps in supply (from compulsory stocks) and controlling demand (prioritised distribution, quotas).

The FONES reporting office, which was set up in summer 2015, provides an early warning system for the rapid detection of disruptions in the supply of critical human medicines. Appropriate measures can introduced in good time to counteract the supply shortfalls reported by the health care system.

Additional information

Last modification 18.05.2021

Top of page

https://www.bwl.admin.ch/content/bwl/en/home/themen/heilmittel.html

Heilmittel

Der Bedarf an Heilmitteln in der Schweiz wird mehrheitlich durch Importe sichergestellt. Bei einigen Produktegruppen wie z.B. Antibiotika oder Insulinpräparaten besteht praktisch eine vollumfängliche Auslandsabhängigkeit.

Bild_Heilmittel

Aktuell

Dank Heilmittelplattform konnten Engpässe überbrückt werden

Bei lebenswichtigen und meldepflichtigen Medikamenten ist es 2019 und 2020 zu mehr als 300 Versorgungsstörungen gekommen. Die Heilmittelplattform der wirtschaftlichen Landesversorgung WL hat die Störungen erfasst und analysiert. Dank frühzeitigem Monitoring und Einsatz von Pflichtlagerwaren konnten mehrere kritische Situationen überbrückt werden. Dies hält ein Bericht fest, den der Bundesrat am 12. Mai 2021 zur Kenntnis genommen hat.

Insgesamt 321 Versorgungsstörungen wurden in den Berichtsjahren 2019 und 2020 erfasst. Von 2016 bis 2019 nahm die Zahl der gemeldeten Störungen zu. 2020 gingen die Meldungen um 26 Prozent zurück, von 184 (2019) auf 137 (2020). Während der ersten Covid-19-Welle im April 2020 kam es zwar zu einer massiven Zunahme von Meldungen. Im Verlaufe des Jahres fielen die Meldungen dann aber unter das Niveau des Vorjahres. Mögliche Erklärungen für diese rückläufige Entwicklung finden sich in den Folgen der Covid-19-Pandemie.

Medienmitteilung: Dank Heilmittelplattform konnten Engpässe überbrückt werden

Bericht 2019-2020 der Meldestelle für lebenswichtige Humanarzneimittel (PDF, 1 MB, 12.05.2021)

(12.05.2021)

Die Globalisierung der vergangenen Jahre hatte zur Folge, dass einerseits bei den Anbietern und andererseits bei den Produktionsstandorten weltweit eine Konzentration stattfand. Gleichzeitig wurden die Lagermengen aus Kostengründen auf allen Stufen abgebaut. Die Versorgungsketten von Heilmitteln sind dadurch entsprechend anfälliger geworden.

Die WL hat Massnahmen sowohl für kurzfristige Engpässe und Lieferausfälle als auch für den Fall einer Pandemie vorbereitet. Damit kann einerseits das Angebot gestützt (Versorgung aus Pflichtlagern) und andererseits die Nachfrage gesteuert werden (priorisierte Verteilung, Kontingentierung).

Die im Sommer 2015 eingerichtete Meldestelle im BWL ermöglicht im Sinne eines Frühwarnsystems eine rasche Erfassung von Versorgungsstörungen bei kritischen Humanarzneimitteln. Den durch die Akteure des Gesundheitswesens gemeldeten Lieferengpässen kann so zeitgerecht mit geeigneten Massnahmen begegnet werden.

Weiterführende Informationen

Letzte Änderung 12.05.2021

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.bwl.admin.ch/content/bwl/de/home/themen/heilmittel.html